i dreamed a dream

23 Feb

I had a dream the other night and I need to discuss it to derive some meaning from it. I was living in on a street lined with reddish brick houses and small apartment buildings in a very large city. I was walking across the alley between my building and the neighbouring building. It was a sunny day and I was with my son who was about three years old. The street was tree-lined. It was an upper class part of the city.

A black man dressed in a suit who was walking on the sidewalk in front of the buildings, stopped to make conversation. He seemed like a pleasant  man, friendly, well dressed, however when he asked my son where he went to school I continued on my way to get inside our building. I didn’t think this man had any business knowing where my son went to school and quietly told my son not to answer the question.

What’s odd is that in the dream my son was only old enough for preschool, but in my mind I was hearing the name of his current elementary school.

Once we were inside I spoke with my Mom. She was in my apartment, for a visit I believe. I told her about the man and his question to my son. My Mom didn’t seem to think it was an odd question. Instead she asked me if I ever played out in front of the building in the little swing area. In my mind I could see a small area about 8′ x 8′ with a swing set. She seemed to find it curious that we never ventured in front of the building to play.

This is all I remember of the dream. I know there was another part but my memory fails me as I type so I’ll add it another time.

If you have any thoughts, please speak up!  I trusted the man until he started asking personal information. I didn’t answer him just hurried off. Why didn’t I just reply? My Mom did not share my concern. Was I being overly cautious? I didn’t understand why a stranger wanted to know where my son went to school.  I hurried off to hide inside. Hmmm, hiding inside myself when someone asks personal information. Not wanting to share my personal side? Not feeling supported by my Mom, my own feminine side, my own Mothering side?

2 Responses to “i dreamed a dream”

  1. em February 28, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    hi sf
    the dream does show how something in the past – your son being three – is affecting the present and definitely does hint at mistrust of men, and perhaps affecting present “business”??

    it’s good to know when to tune out other noses in your business. perhaps the dream is inviting you to trust this sense and relax it from any over-protectiveness or suspiciousness. Once inside, take the wise invitation from your mom to be out front and play with life!

    It almost seems an illustration of your outside and inside energy and knowing you well – this is you! stay inside your truly playful nature and together with your grounded instincts, all is well.
    em

    • scriptedfuture March 1, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

      Thank you for the insightful comments!

Leave a Reply

Delicious Soulful Self Love

Active Women Living For Today

Love Travelling

Travel diaries providing inspiration for fellow travellers

Caitlin Jean Russell

Travel Tips, Photographs and Experiences

Aniket Sharma Photography

World through my lens

Clear Blue Sky

Exploring Thoughts, Emotions and Life Clarity

spanishwoods

thoughts from the forest

CJ BANE & PEARL

Leave nothing but footsteps. Take nothing but photos. Kill nothing but time.

Color is Law

Find adventure everywhere

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Trek Ontario

Hike | Camp | Canoe | Snowshoe | Geocache | ...

We Listen To Mary Magdalene (Lady Nada)

Just another WordPress.com site

Otrazhenie

Reflection

Megan Has OCD

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Violet Poetry

Words are powerful and can be used to heal or harm. I believe in using my powers for good. Compassion, celebration of Gaia and our shared humanity, random kindness, the wonder of the human spirit, the poetry of empathy, all inspire me daily.

Nalonmit's Blog

off world, spiritual, health, tim wrote.

Cauldrons and Cupcakes

Celebrating Life, Spirituality, Creativity and Kindness!

